Just another WordPress.com site

Scarred for life

Bike wreck reinactment

March 1st will always stand out to me now as my first bike wreck as a grown-up.  I started riding a bike about five years ago, so not a bad track record, hu?  I always thought that getting a good fall out of my way would free me up mentally about getting hurt.  On the contrary, it hurt a lot and for a long time (even now, four weeks later my hip is still tenderized), and this has pretty much codified any “what if” types of concerns in my mind about bicycling. The consequences of falling are in fact far greater pain-wise than I had imagined them to be, and I came away with only a bruise andsome scrapes.  Still, I am  relatively whiney and jaded about the whole experience.

One response

  1. Mom

    Two big bike wrecks in a lifetime is a pretty good record. Your drawing of the second one is sad, but well done! I’m so glad you’re staying active even after your painful injuries.

    April 10, 2011 at 3:10 pm

Leave a Reply

