Just another WordPress.com site

The Crux of Artmaking and Exercise…

I just got home from an afternoon in a demoralizing Senate hearing in St. Paul.  The room was hot, smelled of fried garlic and chives,  the mics were broken so you couldn’t really hear, there was no place to sit, and our issue was not on the agenda, although we had been asked to go there to provide testimony on it.  I left a tenant about to be evicted hanging without support just so that I could go and waste my time at the Capitol.  I’m exhausted and kind of angry. 

I have PT to do, and a jog that won’t happen. I have this blog that I have not been tending for the last two months. These things are all on my mind, but my real responsibilities for the time-being are continuing to build the husband’s website and research the legal requirements for contracts and hiring so that I can make sure he’s off to a good start.  And right now, I don’t really want to do that either. 

I remember how one of my college professors preached how art has to be made a priority, because if it isn’t it, then no time will be made for it, and it will never be made.  That conversation echoes loudly, everytime I think about the weekly drawings I have not been doing.  I have also not been getting to the gym or exercising very regularly. 

So that brings me to ask the question, How do other people manage their time; find balance in their lives; and do a little of all the things they love and are committed to?  How do they push forward to start the next job when the one they just got home from left them feeling drained and bitter? 

One response

  1. Mom

    No one can do it all and do it all well. You have to pick your battles like you so often remind me. Look for something positive that your day at the capitol did – you went to support that person about to be evicted as much as anyone else needing your help. Do we have to keep reminding you of how awesome you are to care so much? Give yourself a break! You aren’t Atlas, you know. You don’t have to carry the world on your shoulders. Do what you can an leave it or you’ll wind up like your mother…a worn out nervous wreck. The stress comes back to haunt you later in life. If you don’t take care of you, no one else will, then when you get sick who will be there to take care of you? There aren’t many Tracey’s out there – you’re one in a million!

    May 20, 2011 at 4:44 am

Leave a Reply

